A Genealogical Scam!


It has been two years since I wrote this post, but I think it is important for those just starting out, so I am reposting….

Passage to the Past's Blog

My first experience at genealogical research wasn’t research at all.  But I didn’t know any better. 

I wanted to know more of my ancestor David Pinder/Pindar/Pendar/Pender/Pynder.  His Seaman’s Protection Certificate tells me he was a native of Ipswich, Essex County, Massachusetts, he was  5’11” with light hair, light complexion, blue eyes and a large scar on his bosom. He died at sea in 1815 at the age of 27.  His young widow and their two young daughters ages 3 and 5, relocated to Malden, Massachusetts a distance of about 20 miles. 

I knew how to research in Malden (or so I thought – keep in mind, this was my first week as a researcher), but had no idea how to research in Ipswich.  So, I “Googled” the Ipswich Historical Society and asked if they could help.  A few days later, they referred me to a local genealogist. We made contact, I sent…

View original post 2,658 more words

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by ethomson1@comcast.net on January 29, 2015 at 3:04 PM

    Sounds like a Geneology snob.  Very snarky.   

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

